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BURNS, C.J., LIM AND NAKAMURA, JJ.

OPINION OF THE COURT BY LIM, J.

Philip Kala Kekuewa, III (Defendant or Kekuewa) appeals

the March 22, 2005 judgment of the District Court of the First

Circuit (district court)! that convicted him of speeding, driving

without a license (DWOL) and driving under the influence of an

intoxicant (DUI) .2

. The Honorable William A. Cardwell presided.
2 The statute in effect at the time of the arrest, Hawaii Revised
2003) provided, in pertinent part:

Statutes (HRS) § 291E-61 (Supp.
(a) A person commits the offense of operating a vehicle
under the influence of an intoxicant [(DUI)] if the person
operates or assumes actual physical control of a vehicle:

(1) While under the influence of alcohol in an amount
sufficient to impair the person's normal mental
faculties or ability to care for the person and guard
against casualty;

While under the influence of any drug that impairs the
person's ability to operate the vehicle in a careful

and prudent manner;

With .08 or more grams of alcohol per two hundred ten
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(4)

(b)

(1)

(2)

liters of breath; or

With .08 or more grams of alcohol per one hundred
milliliters or cubic centimeters of blood.

A person committing the offense of operating a vehicle
under the influence of an intoxicant shall be sentenced as follows
without possibility of probation or suspension of sentence:

For the first offense, or any offense not preceded
within a five-year period by a conviction for an
of fense under this section or section 291E-4(a):

(A)

(B)

(C)

(D)

A fourteen-hour minimum substance abuse
rehabilitation program, including education and
counseling, or other comparable program deemed
appropriate by the court;

Ninety-day prompt suspension of license and
privilege to operate a vehicle during the
suspension period, or the court may impose, in
lieu of the ninety-day prompt suspension of
license, a minimum thirty-day prompt suspension
of license with absolute prohibition from
operating a vehicle and, for the remainder of
the ninety-day period, a restriction on the
license that allows the person to drive for
limited work-related purposes and to participate
in substance abuse treatment programs;

Any one or more of the following:

(1) Seventy-two hours of community service
work ;

(ii) Not less than forty-eight hours and not
more than five days of imprisonment; or

(iii) A fine of not less than $150 but not more
than $1,000; and

A surcharge of $25 to be deposited into the
neurotrauma special fund;

For an offense that occurs within five years of a
prior conviction for an offense under this section or
section 291E-4(a) by:

(A)

Prompt suspension of license and privilege to
operate a vehicle for a period of one year with
an absolute prohibition from operating a vehicle
during the suspension period;

Either one of the following:

(i) Not less than two hundred forty hours of
community service work; or

2
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On appeal, Defendant challenges only his DUI
conviction. He attacks the oral accusation, which charged him
with DUI "for your second offense." Defendant contends this was

insufficient under State v. Domingues, 106 Hawai'i 480, 107 P.3d

409 (2005) (per curiam), in which the supreme court denominated
nan offense that occurs within five years of a prior conviction
for an offense under this section[,]" Hawaii Revised Statutes
(HRS) § 291E-61(b) (2) (Supp. 2003), an attendant circumstance and
thus an essential element of the DUI offense that has to be

alleged in the accusation under pain of dismissal as defective.

(ii) Not less than five days but not more than
fourteen days of imprisonment of which at
least forty-eight hours shall be served
consecutively;

(C) A fine of not less than $500 but not more than
$1,500; and

(D) A surcharge of $25 to be deposited into the
neurotrauma special fund;

(3) For an offense that occurs within five years of two
prior convictions for offenses under this section or
section 291E-4(a):

(R) A fine of not less than $500 but not more than
$2,500;
(B) Revocation of license and privilege to operate a

vehicle for a period not less than one year but
not more than five years;

(C) Not less than ten days but not more than thirty
days imprisonment of which at least forty-eight
hours shall be served consecutively; and

(D) A surcharge of $25 to be deposited into the
neurotrauma special fundl[.]

HRS § 291E-61 has since been amended several times in respects immaterial to
this appeal. Cf. HRS § 291E-61 (Supp. 2005).

3
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Following Domingues, we agree with Defendant and reverse the
judgment insofar as it convicted him of DUI. We therefore do not
reach Defendant's challenge to the sufficiency of the DUI
evidence adduced at trial.
I. Background.
A.

At the beginning of the bench trial, the deputy

prosecuting attorney (DPA) read the oral charge to Defendant.

The October 11, 2004 transcript reads as follows:

Mr. Kekuewa, on or about the 15th day of April 2004, in the
City and County of Honolulu, State of Hawaii, island of Oahu, you
did operate or assume actual physical control of a vehicle while
under the influence of alcohol in an amount sufficient to impair
your normal mental faculties or the ability to care for yourself
and guard against casualty thereby violating Section 291E-61 of
the Hawaii Revised Statutes for your second offense.

On that same date, 15th day of April, 2004, you did, in the
City and County of Honolulu, State of Hawaii, operate or permit
the operation of or cause the operation of (indiscernible) the
vehicle on a public highway without a current official certificate
of inspection in violation of Section 286-25, Hawaii Revised
Statutes.

And on or about that same day, the 15th of April 2004, you
did, in the City and County of Honolulu, State of Hawaii, you did
operate a motor vehicle without first being appropriately examined
and duly licensed as a qualified driver of that vehicle in
violation of Section 286-102 of the Hawail Revised Statutes.
That's your third offense for driving without a license.

And sir, on that same day in the City and County of
Honolulu, State of Hawaii, you did drive a vehicle at a speed
greater than the maximum speed limit stated on signs placed by the
director of transportation with respect to highways under the
director's jurisdiction by traveling at a speed of 88 miles per
hour in a 50-mile-per-hour zone thereby violating Section 291C-
102 ([b]) of the Hawaii Revised Statutes. Do you understand those
charges?

Immediately after reading the charges, the DPA moved to nolle
prosequi what the record indicates were insurance and

registration citations. The district court dismissed those
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charges.
B.

Testimony during the State's case revealed the
following. On April 15, 2004, at about 1:45 in the morning, a
police officer facing east on Kélaniandole Highway waiting to
make a left turn saw a lone, black Dodge pickup truck heading in
the opposite direction onto the H-1 freeway. "In my opinion, it
was way excess of the 35-mile-per-hour speed limit." The officer
made a U-turn and pursued, but the truck was pulling away from
him "at a very high rate of speed."

The officer radioed ahead to another police officer he
knew was stationed there. The other officer was parked on the
Wai‘alae Avenue overpass and lasered the truck going 88, then 80,
miles per hour on the freeway, where the speed limit is 50 miles
per hour. The pursuing officer activated his lights and siren
and continued the chase, attaining 115 miles per hour in the
process. He noticed the truck weaving within its lane. With the
aid of two other patrol cars, the pursuing officer was able to
box in and pull the truck over just before the University of
Hawai‘i off-ramp.

The three police officers approached the truck and
discovered Defendant in the driver seat and another man in the
passenger seat. The truck's license plate read "PKK3RD."
Because the height of the lifted truck and its tinted windows

prevented a side view of the interior, Defendant was asked to

5
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open his door and alight from the vehicle.. Complying, Defendant
appeared to fumble with the lock. Upon request, Defendant was
able to provide documentation of insurance and registration.
Defendant could not, however, produce a driver's license, and
later told the officers that he did not have one.

Among the three of them, the police officers observed
that Defendant's face was flushed and his eyes were red,‘watery,
bloodshot and glassy. A very strong odor of alcohol emanated
from him. He was "very unsteady on his feet." One of the
officers thought Defendant was going to fall several times. When
the same officer told Defendant he was being stopped for
speeding, Defendant responded "huh," and his voice "appearedv
slurred, very slurred." The officer opined that Defendant was
under the influence of alcohol.

The police placed Defendant and his passenger in
separate patrol cars and transported them to the law school
parking lot, where yet another police officer administered some
field sobriety tests to Defendant. That officer noticed
Defendant's eyes were red, glassy and watery. A strong odor of
an alcoholic beverage was on his breath. While awaiting the
tests, Defendant rested his head on the officer's patrol vehicle.

On the walk-and-turn test, Defendant could not keep his
balance during the instructional phase of the test. He started
the test too soon, took eleven instead of nine steps in each

direction, and on the eleventh step going, asked, "oh, what now,

6
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what I gotta do[?]" Also, Defendant failed to put heel to toe on
both the ninth step going and the tenth step returning. On the
one-leg-stand test, a thirty-second exercise, Defendant raised
his left foot for ten seconds, put it down, then raised his right
foot for ten seconds. For the iast ten seconds of the test,
Defendant just left both feet down. Based on Defendant's
performance on the tests, the administering officer opined that
Defendant was impaired and in no condition to drive his truck.

The administering officer placed Defendant under arrest
for DUI. Although Defendant had been "extremely cooperative" and
willing to take the field sobriety tests, he became "very
uncooperative" at the police station. Defendant was yellihg and
upset, and refused to acknowledge the administering officer as
the officer read him the implied consent forms.

C.

Just before the State rested, the district court
admitted State's exhibit 1 showing that Defendant did not have a
driver's license on the day of the incident. Then the DPA

proffered State's exhibit 3:

[DPA]: Well, at this time, we would ask to move into
evidence the certified court abstract of [Defendant] as a self-
authenticating certified public record. I mean, a self-
certification, self-certified record, your Honor.

[DEFENSE COUNSEL]: For what purpose?

[DPA]: This is for the purpose of, under State vs
(indiscernible) and that is the ----
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THE COURT: He's referring to Dominqus [sic].?

[DPA] : Domingus [sic], thank you. For proving the elements
of the prior offense in the case-in-chief rather than at
sentencing.

[DEFENSE COUNSEL]: Your Honor, we would object as, first of
all, there's other additional charges and convictions on this
abstract that is [sic] irrelevant, prejudicial, and essentially,
this is hearsay, your Honor. We would object to this entire
abstract coming in.

THE COURT: Well, the Domingus [sic] case makes it very
clear that if you are charging someone under 291E-61 as a
subsequent offense that it must be alleged and proven at trial
that it is a subsequent offense, that is a second within five
years or a third within five years. If this is certified -- you
agree that this is a certified document?

[DEFENSE COUNSEL]: It has a seal on it, your Honor, but we
would object to all this other information coming in.

THE COURT: Well, that's my next step. If you agree that
it's a certified document and you agree it's a public record, it
is both self-authenticating and is not hearsay under the public
records exception to the hearsay rule, so it's not hearsay.
There's an exception for public record and it is self-
authenticating if it's certified, that is under seal, and if the
purpose for this is to introduce evidence as to the subsequent DUI
and the subsequent driving without license -- is that purpose for
this?

[DEFENSE COUNSEL]: It's not to ----

THE COURT: And I will consider only those items in there

going to that issue. I will not consider any of the other matters
in the abstract.

(Footnote supplied.) The district court admitted State's exhibit
3. The State then proffered State's exhibit 2, a "certified
court calendar from July 21st, 2003 for [Defendant] regarding a
[sic] arrest and conviction for DUI under 291E-61," which the
district court admitted for the same limited purpose and over the
same defense objections.

After the State rested, Defendant moved for a judgment

Presumably, State v. Dominques, 106 Hawai‘i 480, 107 P.3d 409

(2005) .
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of acquittal on all charges. The district court acquitted
Defendant of the safety check charge, as there was no evidence
admitted at trial to support it, but denied the motion as to the
speeding, DWOL and DUI charges.
D.

After Defendant's passenger indicated he would take the
Fifth if called to testify, Defendant took the stand as the only
witness in his defense. Defendant testified that he spent the
day at Sandy Beach, starting at about ten in the morning. He
surfed for three hours, then barbequed and drank beer, about a
six pack, until six or seven in the evening. His sister dropped
him off at the residence of his close friend -- the passenger as
described by the police -- where he stayed for a couple of hours.
At about ten, Defendant went out to the truck and fell asleep
reclined in the passenger seat.

At one or one-thirty in the morning, Defendant awoke to
his friend "whacking me, waking me up." His friend was driving

the truck somewhere near the University of Hawai‘i.

Cause he said the cops, the cops. And I said what did you
do? He said I don't know, but I got a warrant, da-da-da-da-da,
that's it so.

Tired, I was kine'a disoriented. I was like, what, I didn't
know what was going on.

I seen lights and everything. He put it in park and told
me, brah, I got a warrant, brah, just hop over, da-da-da-da-da. I
said what, and I kine'a swore at him and I hopped over and that's
what happened.
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When asked why he switched seats, Defendant answered, "Cause he's
a friend, but I was stupid."

Defendant estimated that the switch took five to ten
seconds. He opined that the police officer who had boxed the
truck in from the front could not have seen them switch because
the officer was in the process of getting out of his patrol car
when the switch went down. Defendant ascribed his red, glassy
eyes to the three hours of surfing he did that day. Also, he was
tired. Defendant denied stumbling or swaying. Defendant denied
admitting to a police officer that he was the driver of the
truck.

Defendant claimed that he took the field sobriety tests
and passed. The administering officer was "kine'a like amazed"
that Defendant had passed, but he made Defendant do the tests
again. When Defendant protested that he had passed again and the

officer again agreed,

the sergeant came up and said no, no, no, F, he started swearing
and said no, no, no, give him the F-ing breath test.

He started swearing. He said you're F-ing around and you
bullshit, and I told 'em, eh I got asthma. He said well, I don't
give a F, shit, whatever, blow. The third time I blew, he said,
arrest his F-ing ass.

Defendant claimed that he passed the breath test, too, but was
arrested anyway. When he was being handcuffed, he told a police
officer that he was not the driver of the truck. At the police
station, Defendant asked for a phone call and a lawyer. "No.
They told me B.S. you're not getting anything."

10
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In rebuttal, the State called the police officer who
administered the preliminary alcohol screening (PAS) breath test

to Defendant. The PAS officer remembered:

When I offered him the preliminary alcohol screening, which he
initialed, agreed to sign, he was kind of playing around with the
machine. By that I mean, he was pretending to blow to the
machine. He was kind of hyperventilating to the machine. I guess
he was sucking air in instead of blowing air out. So, he was just
pretty much pretending to blow. That's when I was telling him,
sir, you don't have to do this, I mean, it's strictly voluntary.

The PAS officer testified that Defendant "blew" into the PAS
device three times, but the reading came out "void double zero
six" indicating an insufficient sample.

The PAS officer also recalled that Defendant admitted
being the driver of the truck. The PAS officer detailed

additional admissions by Defendant:

While I was offering him the PAS, like in between when I was
giving him break, finally get him to properly do a PAS, he was
saying the words of that he's gonna continue driving drunk and
that next time he won't stop for the police, and that he didn't
have a license on him, when I was asking for his license during
the PAS cause we have to put his name down on the form.

E.
After the close of all evidence, Defendant brought

alternative motions, both of which the district court denied:

[DEFENSE COUNSEL]: May I make a motion to dismiss at this
time?

THE COURT: Sure.

[DEFENSE COUNSEL]: Your Honor, at this point, I would like
to make -- well, first of all, I'd like to make a motion for
mistrial. At the close of the prosecutor's case, they
successfully admitted into evidence proof of my client's abstract
indicating that he had a prior DUI and, I guess, according to the
Dominqus [sic] case, in their case-in-chief, the prosecutors, I
guess, are allowed to prove, or admit into evidence, evidence of a
prior DUI.

THE COURT: The Domingus [sic] case says they're required

11



FOR PUBLICATION IN WEST'S HAWAI‘l REPORTS AND PACIFIC REPORTER

to.
[DEFENSE COUNSEL]: Well ----

THE COURT: It is not a sentencing matter, that they're
required to ----

[DEFENSE COUNSEL]: Well, your Honor, we just wanna lay on
the record, we're aware of Domingqus [sic], but we would wanna
place on the record that any evidence of a prior DUI is not an
element of the offense of Hawaii Revised Statutes 291E-61, and our
position is that these are matters to be handled at sentencing
your Honor. I realize that ----

THE COURT: Have you read Domingus [sic]?
[DEFENSE COUNSEL]: I have read Domingqus [sic].
THE COURT: So, you're arguing the supreme court's wrong?

[DEFENSE COUNSEL] : Well,vI'm just arguing the Public
Defender's position, your Honor.

THE COURT: Well, you understand Domingqus [sic] is directly
contrary to what you're arguing?

[DEFENSE COUNSEL]: Yes, your Honor. In the alternative, we
would submit that Domingus [sic] outlines that these are attendant
circumstances that the prosecution has to prove. Prove that one,
he's guilty beyond a reasonable doubt of a DUI charge, a second
DUI charge. An attendant circumstance which is, I guess, an
element of the charge.

Now, at this time, we would like to make a motion to dismiss
based on a defective charge. The prosecutor did not specify the
attendant circumstances in the complaint what he orally charged my
client, your Honor. So, based on that, the prosecutor's failure
to outline the attendant circumstance in his oral charging of my
client, we ask the Court to dismiss the case based on a defective
charge.

THE COURT: Well, in fact, my notes reflect that at the time
of arraignment he, in fact, did charge, arraign him as a second
and did include the attendant circumstances. That's my specific
note that I'm looking at right now. Therefore, I will deny that
motion based on that.

After entertaining closing arguments, the district

court found that the State had proved the DUI charge and,

that they have proved the attendant circumstance that this was a
second offense within a five-year period, and that the prior
conviction was counseled at the time of the plea, and in fact, the
change of plea form was filed in court on the prior conviction and
therefore the colloquy was done.

The district court also found Defendant guilty of DWOL, and

12
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liable on the speeding charge. During defense counsel's
sentencing argument, the district court told him, "for
sentencing, you'd better assume he was [driving] because that's
what I found, and frankly, I don't believe your client. I do
believe the officers."

The district court sentenced Defendant on the DUI
charge to ten days in jail and a thousand dollar fine, among
other things. The district court stayed execution of its
sentence pending appeal.

II. Standards of Review.

"'Whether an indictment or complaint sets forth all the
essential elements of a charged offense is a question of law,'
which we review under the de novo, or 'right/wrong,' standard."

State v. Merino, 81 Hawai‘i 198, 212, 915 P.2d 672, 686 (1996)

(brackets and ellipsis omitted) (quoting State v. Wells, 78

Hawai‘i 373, 379, 894 P.2d 70, 76 (1995) (citations omitted)).
"The failure of an accusation to charge an offense may

be raised 'at any time during the pendency of the proceedings|[.]'

[Hawai‘i Rules of Penal Procedure (HRPP) Rule] 12(b) (2) (1995);

»

see also State v. Motta, 66 Haw. 89, 90, 657 P.2d 1019, 1019-20

(1983)." Merino, 81 Hawai‘i at 212, 915 P.2d at 686 (some
brackets in the original). See also HRPP Rule 12 (b) (2) (2005).
In Motta, the supreme court adopted a rule of liberal
construction of charges challenged for the first time on appeal.
Motta, 66 Haw. at 90, 657 P.2d at 1020. "Our adoption of this

13
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liberal construction standard for post-conviction challenges to
indictments means we will not reverse a conviction based upon a
defective indictment unless the defendant can show prejudice or
that the indictment cannot within reason be construed to charge a
crime." Id. at 91, 657 P.2d at 1020.

"In the present case, however, the alleged deficiency
in the indictment was raised by a timely motion. The liberal
construction rule laid down in Motta with respect to such
contentions when raised after conviction is therefore

inapplicable." State v. Robins, 66 Haw. 312, 314, 660 P.2d 39,

41 (1983).
III. Discussion.
A.
Defendant advances two points of error on appeal.
Defendant contends the oral accusation, which charged him with
DUI "for your second offense([,]" was defective under Domingues
because the attendant circumstance of "an offense that occurs
within five years of a prior conviction for an offense under this
section{,]"™ HRS § 291E-61(b){(2), an essential element of the DUI
offense, was not fully stated. Hence, Defendant avers, the
district court was wrong not to grant his oral motion to dismiss
the DUI charge. Defendant also contends there was insufficient
evidence to support his DUI conviction.
B.
Defendant was orally charged and his bench trial

14
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commenced on October 11, 2004. The trial continued on March 14,
2005 and concluded on March 21, 2005. In the interim, on
February 22, 2005, the supreme éourt issued its Domingues
opinion. The Domingues court determined that the "prefatory
language of HRS § 291E—61(b)(1)'[(Supp. 2001)] through HRS §
291E-61(b) (4) [(Supp. 2001)]1* describes attendant circumstances,
see HRS § 702-205 {(1993),5 that are intrinsic to and 'enmeshed’
in the hierarchy of offenses that HRS § 291E-61 [(Supp. 2001)] as
a whole describes." Domingues, 106 Hawai‘i at 487, 107 P.3d at
416 (footnotes supplied). Accordingly, such aggravating

circumstances "must be alleged in the charging instrument in

order to give the defendant notice that they will be relied on to

As noted by the Domingues court,

Effective January 1, 2004, the legislature amended HRS § 291E-61
by deleting the felony offense previously described in subsection
(b) (4). See 2003 Haw. Sess. L. Act 71, §3 at 125-26.
Nevertheless, Act 71 also recodified HRS § 291E-61(b) (4) as a
"separate offense" under HRS § 291E-61.5, entitled "[h]labitually
operating a vehicle under the influence of an intoxicant." See
2003 Haw. Sess. L. Act 71, §1 at 123-24. The significance of this
amendment was to separate the felony offense from the apparent
assortment of petty misdemeanor offenses codified in HRS §§
291E-61(b) (1) through 291E-61(b) (3). See Hse. Conf. Com. Rep. No.
18, in 2003 House Journal, at 1706-07; Sen. Conf. Com. Rep. No.
18, in 2003 Senate Journal, at 953-54.

Dominques, 106 Hawai‘i at 482 n.l1l, 107 P.3d at 411 n.1 (brackets in the
original) .

5 HRS § 702-205 (1993) provides:

The elements of an offense are such (1) conduct, (2)
attendant circumstances, and (3) results of conduct, as:

(a) Are specified by the definition of the offense, and

(b) Negative a defense (other than a defense based on the
statute of limitations, lack of venue, or lack of
jurisdiction).

15
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prove the defendant's guilt and support the sentence to be
imposed, and they must be determined by the trier of fact." Id.
at 487-88, 107 P.3d at 416-17 (brackets, citations, internal
gquotation marks and block quote format omitted; emphasis in the
original).

Therefore, Defendant contends, State v. Cummings, 101

Hawai‘i 139, 142, 63 P.3d 1109, 1112 (2003) (DUI conviction
reversed because "the complaint failed to allege that [Cummings]

was under the influence of intoxicating liquor in an amount

sufficient to impair the person's normal mental faculties or

ability to care for oneself and gquard against casualty" (internal

quotation marks omitted; emphasis in the original)), controls.
We agree.

"It is well settled that an 'accusation must
sufficiently allege all of the essential elements of the offense
charged,' a requirement that 'obtains whether an accusation is in
the nature of an oral charge, information, indictment, or
complaint.'" Id. (original brackets, citation and block quote

format omitted) (quoting State v. Jendrusch, 58 Haw. 279, 281,

567 P.2d 1242, 1244 (1977)). "'A charge defective in this regard
amounts to a failure to state an offense, and a conviction based
upon it cannot be sustained, for that would constitute a denial
of due process.'" Id. (citation and block quote format omitted)
(quoting Jendrusch, 58 Haw. at 281, 567 P.2d at 1244).

Furthermore, "that requirement is not satisfied by the fact that

16
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the accused actually knew [the essential elements of the offense
charged] and was not misled by the failure to sufficiently allege
all of them." Id. at 143, 63 P.3d at 1113 (block quote format

omitted) (quoting State v. Israel, 78 Hawai‘i 66, 73, 890 P.2d

303, 310 (1995)). "Moreover, citing to a statutory reference

does not cure a charge that merely states an element of the

offense in generic terms." Id. (citing State v. Elliott, 77
Hawai‘i 309, 311, 884 P.2d 372, 374 (1994)).

It cannot fairly be stated, however, that the oral
charge in this case completely omitted the entire attendant
circumstance, and we acknowledge the case the State cites in

answer on appeal,® State v. Sprattling, 99 Hawai‘i 312, 320-21,

55 P.3d 276, 284-85 (2002) (upholding an oral accusation which
omitted the modifier "bodily" from a charge of assault in the

third degree’). The Sprattling court reasoned that, "when the

oral charge is viewed as a whole, the oral charge clearly

indicates that the reference to 'assault' anchors 'injury' within

& Actually, the State's primary argument on appeal is that

Domingques's designation of certain prior DUI convictions as essential elements
intrinsic to a DUI offense that must be alleged in the charge and determined
by the trier of fact, Domingques, 106 Hawai‘i at 487-88, 107 P.3d at 416-17,
cuts directly against the grain of the supreme court's Tafoya precedents and
federal Apprendi jurisprudence, which exempt historical facts and prior
convictions, respectively -- in other words, factors extrinsic to an offense -
- from the dual requirement of allegation and determination by the trier of
fact. State v. Tafoya, 91 Hawai‘i 261, 271, 982 P.2d 890, 900 (1999);
Apprendi v. New Jersey, 530 U.S. 466, 490, 120 S.Ct. 2348, 2362-63 (2000) .
Thus, the State urges, Domingques should be overruled. Be that as it may, that
we cannot and will not do. We take the supreme court at its word.

7 HRS § 707-712(1) (a) (1993) provides: "A person commits the
offense of assault in the third degree if the person: Intentionally,
knowingly, or recklessly causes bodily injury to another person[.]"
(Enumeration omitted; format modified.)

17
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the context of criminal assault, which necessarily involves
bodily injury." Id. at 319, 55 P.3d at 283 (citation omitted).
The supreme court also pointed to the record, noting that
Sprattling suffered no substantial prejudice by the omission of

the modifier in the oral charge. Id. at 320-21, 55 P.3d at 284-

85.
Upon its Sprattling citation, the State observes:
The October 11, 2004 oral charge sufficiently apprised Kekuewa of
the elements of the underlying [DUI] charge pursuant to HRS §
291E-61(a). Kekuewa was also apprised, arguably unnecessarily,
that this was his second such offense. As such, Kekuewa was
sufficiently apprised of what he must be prepared to meet to
adequately prepare a defense.

Answering Brief at 23-24 (bold typeface omitted). We observe,

however, that Sprattling challenged the oral charge for the first
time in his appeal, and thus, the Motta liberal construction
standard for post-conviction challenges controlled. Sprattling,
99 Hawai‘i at 318, 55 P.3d at 282. Hence all the talk in

Sprattling of notice and prejudice. See Motta, 66 Haw. at 91,

657 P.2d at 1020. But that standard does not here obtain,
Robing, 66 Haw. at 314, 660 P.2d at 41, and we reiterate that

Cummings here controls. o

The five-year time period omitted from the oral charge
was a critical part of the HRS § 291E-61(b) (2) attendant
circumstance, one with especial resonance in this case in light
of Defendant's several prior DUI convictions. Its inclusion was
required, and "that requirement is not satisfied by the fact that

[Defendant] actually knew [the essential elements of the offense

18
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charged] and was not misled by the failure to sufficiently allege
all of them." Cummings, 101 Hawai‘i at 143, 63 P.3d at 1113
(block quote format omitted) (quoting Israel, 78 Hawai‘i at 73,
890 P.2d at 310). "Moreover, citing to a statutory reference
does not cure a charge that merely states an element of the
offense in generic terms." Id. (citing Elliott, 77 Hawai‘i at
311, 884 P.2d at 374). We conclude that the oral charge in this
case was defective, and that Defendant's oral motion to dismiss
should have been granted.

IV. Conclusion.

Accordingly, the March 22, 2005 judgment of the
district court is reversed insofar as it convicted and sentenced
Defendant for DUI. The judgment is otherwise affirmed. In light
of this disposition, we need not reach Defendant's claim of

insufficiency of the DUI evidence.
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